Messi wins 2018/2019 Pichichi, equals record

Barcelona captain, Lionel Messi, has won the Pichichi Trophy for the sixth time, after finishing the season as LaLiga’s top scorer with 36 goals.

It is the third time in a row Messi has received the award.

This sees him equal the record for most wins, that was set by former Athletic Club star, Telmo Zarra, 66 years ago.

Messi finished clear at the top of the chart, after scoring twice in their 2-2 draw with Eibar on Sunday.

The brace put Messi 15 goals ahead of team-mate Luis Suarez and Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema.

No player has ever won the Pichichi by such a clear margin. The previous record of 14 was set in 1986-87 by Hugo Sanchez.

Read Also:  Mourinho: When Messi had the ball Man Utd were dead & you need a cage to stop him

The Argentina star is also on course to win the European Golden Shoe, for the third consecutive year and sixth in his career.

Check Also

Philippe Coutinho keen on Chelsea move

Philippe Coutinho is open to joining Chelsea this summer. The Brazil international has struggled to …