Kenya set to host Africa Climate Week 2018 in April

Nairobi, Kenya–The African Development Bank is co-organizing, together with other members of the Nairobi Framework Partnership (NFP), the Africa Climate Week 2018 (ACW2018) from 9th to 13th April in Nairobi, Kenya, to advance regional climate action.

The ultimate aim of ACW2018, the first of what is planned to be an annual gathering, is to support implementation of countries’ Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) under the Paris Agreement and climate action to deliver on the UN Sustainable Development Goals.

ACW2018 will be an umbrella for a series of climate-related events focused on NDC implementation – Challenges and opportunities, the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, and the Global Climate Action.

Read Also:  Unilag suspends DR.Boniface Igbeneghu from office indefinitely

With Africa Carbon Forum (ACF) a cornerstone event, focus will be placed on market-based approaches, economic instruments and climate-aligned finance to drive investment in climate action.


  • 10th Africa Carbon Forum
  • High-level sessions with the Champions of the Marrakech Partnership
  • High-level ministerial session
  • LEDS Low Emissions Development Strategy Workshop
  • Climate Technology Centre and Network Workshop
  • Technology Needs Assessment workshop
  • Regional Technical Expert Meeting: Industrial Energy Efficiency

The Nairobi Framework Partnership, following the Paris Agreement decided to broaden its mandate to cover low carbon and climate resilient development with particular focus on the development of market mechanism. The Africa Climate Week brings together diverse stakeholders in the public and private sectors around a common goal of addressing climate change.

Read Also:  Human Trafficking: Nigerian Immigration Service arrests 5 female victims in Katsina State

For information, please contact and visit the website

About the African Development Bank Group
The African Development Bank Group (AfDB) is Africa’s premier development finance institution. It comprises three distinct entities: the African Development Bank (AfDB), the African Development Fund (ADF) and the Nigeria Trust Fund (NTF). On the ground in 34 African countries with an external office in Japan, the AfDB contributes to the economic development and the social progress of its 54 regional member states.


Check Also

ICYMI: South Korean MPs Indicted Over Parliamentary Stand-Off

South Korean prosecutors on Thursday indicted almost 30 MPs and the leader of the main …