Governor El-Rufai sacks all his Political Appointees

Governor of Kaduna state, Nasir El-Rufai has directed all political appointees to submit their letter of resignation before April 30, 2019.

According to his spokeman, Samuel Aruwan, in a statement, said each notice of resignation must be submitted along with a handover note, signed by the political appointee on behalf of the ministries, departments and agencies or office to which he or she had been appointed.

In addition, all resignation letters should be properly addressed to the principal private secretary.

He said the governor expressed his gratitude to all the political appointees for their contributions and service to the state during his first-term.

Read Also:  ICYMI: Collapsed Building in Lagos, kill four people

“The governor will exercise his constitutional prerogative to decide on re-appointments while giving the state ministry of finance adequate time to compute severance payments and reconcile any liabilities,” the statement read.

“As he constitutes the team that will assist him in his second-term, the governor said he expects the process to be enriched by the handover notes from the political appointees, and the report of the Transition Committee headed by the Deputy Governor-elect, Dr. Hadiza Sabuwa Balarabe.”

“The following appointees are expected to comply with the directive: All Commissioners in the State Executive Council, All Permanent Secretaries, Special Advisers, Directors-General, Executive Secretaries, Managing Directors, General Managers and other Heads of Agencies, Senior Special Assistants, Special Assistants and Technical Assistants to the Governor, other than the Kashim Ibrahim Fellows.

Read Also:  Donald Trump insists building Border wall is best for America

“Excluded from compliance with this directive are full-time Commissioners of certain State Executive bodies who retain their tenured appointments in the following agencies: Fiscal Responsibility Commission; Civil Service Commission; Judicial Service Commission; Assembly Service Commission; The State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM); The Peace Commission; Public Procurement Authority, and Water Regulatory Authority.

“Due to recent adjustments in roles within the government, the occupants of and recent appointees into the following offices are also exempted from the directive to resign: Commissioner of Finance; Principal Private Secretary; Accountant-General; Special Adviser; Intergovernmental Relations
Managing Director; Kaduna Markets Development Company; Managing Director, Kaduna Investment and Finance Company, and any other political appointee sworn-in or appointed to their current role within the last six months.”

Read Also:  Rice dealer robbed and beheaded by suspected Cultists

The governor was re-elected in the March 9 election.

Source: TheCable


Check Also

Finally!!! UK Parliament Approves Brexit Deal

The United Kingdom parliament Thursday  finally approved Brexit, allowing it to become the first country …