Death row prisoners get state pardon from Rauf Aregbesola

Former governor of Osun State, Rauf Aregbesola has pardoned four prisoners on death penalties. The former governor also reduced the sentences of two others prisoners on death penalties to 10 years, as one of his last duties in the office.

Osun state Head of Service, Dr Oyebade Olowogboyega, disclosed the governor’s pardon in a statement.


The beneficiaries are Kazeem Adiamo, who was sentenced to death in 2012, and Adesina Bolaji, sentenced to death in 2006, both now pardoned.

Also on the list also was Kayode Dada, sentenced to death in 2006, but had the death sentence commuted to a life sentence in 2006, and Adewale Owolabi sentenced to death, but now freed.

Read Also:  Court grants Omoyele Sowore N100m bail

The affected inmates were being kept at the Federal Prison, Ibara, Ogun state.

Others with a reduced sentencing are Lateefat Jimoh, who was sentenced to death but her sentence has now been commuted to 10 years imprisonment and Fatai Jimoh, also sentenced to death but his sentence has now been commuted to 10 years in prison.



Check Also

Finally!!! UK Parliament Approves Brexit Deal

The United Kingdom parliament Thursday  finally approved Brexit, allowing it to become the first country …