Brexit: Three MPs quit UK’s governing Party

The ruling party in the United Kingdom lost three members of iits Parliament on Wednesday over Brexit, they claimed that the issue had “re-defined” the party and was “undoing all the efforts to modernise it”.

The trio said they planned to sit in parliament alongside eight former Labour lawmakers who, also citing their opposition to Brexit, resigned from the main opposition party this week to form the new Independent Group.

Anna Soubry, Heidi Allen, and Sarah Wollaston said in a join letter to Prime Minister Theresa May: “It is with regret that we are writing to resign the Conservative whip and our membership of the party.

Read Also:  ICYMI: Facebook fined 5 billion dollars by US Federal Trade Commission for violation of User Privacy right

“We no longer feel we can remain in the party of a government whose policies and priorities are so firmly in the grip of the ERG and DUP,”

The MPs stated, referring to the European Research Group, a pro-Brexit faction of Conservative lawmakers, and the party’s Democratic Unionist allies from Northern Ireland.

Source: AFP



Check Also

Duchess Meghan Returns To Canada

Duchess Meghan has returned to Canada following the couple’s announcement that they were quitting their …